September 15, 2014

Standard

This week was Sister G’s birthday! so we celebrated by going up to the Holler (that’s where the Smiths live) and played all day last P-day. A few other missionary companionships came up and we smashed potatoes with baseball bats and had water fights and played on a zipline.

The week kinda went downhill from there, haha. I am just so confused as to why I’m on a mission. Why am I walking into strange peoples homes every day. Why am I chasing people’s problems all day every day. Why am I stalking people. (fo real. I feel like I’m an ordained, set-apart stalker sometimes). Why am attending the funeral of someone I don’t even know and maybe crying at said funeral for the loss of a father and friend (not MY father or friend). I have these moments all the time when I’ll just stop and think to myself, what am I doing? How did I get in this situation, having a crazy old woman holding my hands and praying for me and my virginity at the top of her lungs in the middle of the projects in hillbillly Tennessee? And why doesn’t she stop, that’s embarrassing. How did I end up in one of the most drug-infested and highest high school dropout counties in America? How am I supposed to talk to these people? How am I supposed to love these people? Why am I chasing a crazy drunk guy down the streets of LaFollette at 10:00 p.m.?

Oh that’s a good story actually. Our recent convert who is battling alcoholism went absolutely crazy one night after drinking all day. We heard the family was in the emergency room so we got permission to go see them past our “curfew”. The dad was drunker than a skunk and had apparently accidentally fallen on his step-daughter and she hurt her neck and had a mild concussion. He hurt himself too so he was getting treated, and then he refused treatment and ran out of the emergency room. We followed him outside and he was running out to the street saying he was gonna jump in front of the next car that came. I was already in a don’t-mess-with-me mood and the Elders weren’t doing anything so I ran out in the street and grabbed him and shoved him to the sidewalk. He started cussing me out and I started yelling at him to stop being an idiot (haha can you just see me doing this?) and the other missionaries told me to get away from him but I was NOT about to watch someone get hit by a car. (obviously.) He started taking off down the sidewalk so I told his son Christian to stay with him and make sure he didn’t do anything stupid, and then we were all following behind him for at least five minutes before deciding to call the cops. There were even a couple skateboarders who joined the parade, they asked Elder Bright what we were doing and one of them said “I’m a recovering addict! I’ve been sober for 3 years, maybe I can help him!” haha and they took off to catch up to him. Finally the nice policemen got there and since he’s really good at maintaining composure when he’s drunk they let him off. We didn’t get home til midnight that night. #HOLYHUGEMISHPROBS. We went over to their house last night to have a lesson and I was pretty straight up with them. They had told us they didn’t want to go to stake conference Saturday night so they could have family time. So their “family time” ended up with a crazy drunk dad, a daughter in the hospital, a marriage in an even worse condition, and all sorts of injuries, physical, spiritual, emotional. We had promised them if they went to the meeting they would be blessed. Even if the meeting hadn’t been that great, simply planning on going to that meeting would have prevented all that drama. The family agreed to come to church next Sunday and we’re going to fast with them so we can understand how to help the dad and how to have a renewal of their faith in the Savior.

hmm what else. Oh I bought a basketball!! This week’s highlight. We take it on our runs in the morning.

I’m counting on Dad to keep me updated on BYU sports! And yeah Jillian and me are in a fight now, Oklahoma beat Tennessee -__- haha it’ll be fun to keep up with Tennessee sports when I get home.

We had stake conference over the weekend. We had a member of the 70 come. Our mission president and his wife, Steven and Cherie Griffin, spoke at both the meetings. I love them and they were definitely the best speakers. I am grateful for them. Tomorrow is zone meeting, always a good pick-me-up.

I’ve been studying the different accounts of the First Vision. Within a few months we will have iPads!! I am excited because it’ll be so much easier to study things throughout the week.

I will talk to you all later. I am so grateful for all my family and friends and I miss you all and love you!

– Sis V Hale

victoria.hale@myldsmail.net

Tennessee Knoxville Mission
11320 Station West Drive, Suite 101
Farragut, TN 37934

4 thoughts on “September 15, 2014

  1. Dang, Victoria, that gave me the best laugh ever! Takes me back to the good old days in Sweden: tracting through areas with nude sunbathers, naked men coming to the door and asking us in, not realizing someone was drunk until they let us in, and then trying to teach them something so we could get out… I wish I was there with you! I love the gospel, and the chance my mission gave me to encounter ALL KINDS of people and try to bring the gospel to them. Now that I think about it, being Relief Society President is a LOT like that! Maybe I am doing it again! 🙂 Love you girl!

  2. Wow that was an eventful night. Being brave and bold is defiantly a talent of yours. I love your honesty when talking about our crazy gospel. I understand stalker, in the church it means loving those you serve and willing to anything to help them feel our saviors love. I still feel that way for a little Hale girl with a knock out smile. I love you.

  3. Brent Hope

    Your light is so obvious in the darkness you describe. I suspect the very sight of you by the folks of LaFollette is one of inspiration. While I suspect that there are a handful of people in your mission that might be waiting JUST for you to teach them before they will understand the Gospel, I will guess that your greatest influence will be to those you don’t even know. Your mere influence for good, the radiated light and virtue in your grace and cute ways, I will promise has a profound effect on the obedient spirit (both member and non-member) that is looking for something better. You are touching lives dear Sister Hale. Keep doing what you are doing. Keep following the inspiration that comes to you!

Leave a Reply

