September 7, 2015

Standard

It’s been a pretty busy week! On Monday we went to Asheville and got to play soccer and hang out with the other missionaries in the zone. Then we had exchange with the Marion sisters, I stayed in Waynesville with Sister Mackelprang. It was an awesome exchange, Sister
Mackelprang helped me realize a few things that have brought me a lot of peace and a greater ability to enjoy my mission experience. I have really tried to let go of frustration that I have or being stressed about things that are beyond my control. This has helped me know how to listen to the people I teach better, and to not get frustrated or impatient, but to figure out what it is they need that day, what they REALLY need, not just to teach a principle so I can check that off as a lesson. Ever since then I have felt greater peace and an ability to love people and be guided in what to do and say.

We had an awesome lesson on Thursday. George (who joined the church in February) has been sharing the gospel with a friend from work. A few weeks ago he gave him pamphlets and a Book of Mormon, and then he set up an appointment for us!! It was a young couple named Jeff and Brittany, they fed us and we had a great lesson. It was so rewarding to see George share his testimony very peacefully and confidently. He was so excited for a week before the lesson, and then so excited after it was over. It’s so neat when members have that experience. It is awesome for the person learning about the church as well, already they have had questions come up and were able to ask George about them because they trust him.

Friday I got a blessing and it reminded me of Pres. Pickett inviting me to develop a relationship to the Savior as a high priority on my mission. Good reminder.

Saturday was great, it started out a little rough, but then we went to Lake Junaluska to see if we could talk to a few people. I feel out of habit of talking to new people, so it was a little hard for
me…..several months back that was my favorite thing to do, I guess I better get back in the habit. Anyway, I was nervous so I prayed we would find whoever needed to talk to us out of anyone who was there….we offered to take someone’s picture (great way to talk to someone) and we got to explain a little who we were, but then that lady had to take off. SO we walked back to our car, and before we got in, I looked around and saw a man in a blue shirt sitting on a bench. I told Sister Draney I wanted to go talk to him….we just stood there for a few more seconds trying to figure out what to do, and then the man stood up and walked directly to us and said hello! Turns out he is from Atlanta and belongs to the Community of Christ, aka the reorganized Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. We talked to him for about an hour, it was very interesting. They are the ones who believe Joseph Smith was a prophet, and in the Book of Mormon, they just have a dif. opinion on who the prophetic mantle fell on. I got his email address and I want to send him info on Grant Hardy’s books about the Book of Mormon. Cool, I think we were supposed to meet.

Let’s see what else is happening around here….Andy and Allison left for a couple weeks. Allan and Rhonda are still doing well, she got in a car wreck last week….feel so bad for her, she has so much going on. We taught them the Word of Wisdom with Sister Adler and they said they think they could do it! Coffee is the biggest thing for both of them. I have gained a real appreciation for the word of wisdom on my mission…..just because it is pretty much the last and hardest thing for most people, getting rid of smoking, alcohol, and especially tea and coffee because those 2 are harder to understand the “why”. I don’t really question whether or not tea and coffee are bad or good, that doesn’t really matter to me, it more comes down to this question: How would a person get closer to God by giving up something that they love or are used to having every day? It takes effort, humility, and prayer to overcome many habits and most addictions. Getting rid of the substance, whatever substance it is, also gets rid of a “coping tool.”….now instead of smoking when you are stressed or bored or worried, you have to turn to Heavenly Father and seek for strength. You turn to the scriptures and maybe family or friends for support. It takes humility, faith, patience, and trust in the Lord. And the blessings of living the Word of Wisdom include not only health but a greater ability to have the Spirit, peace, and joy in your life.

Sunday this scripture came up 3 times and so I think it is the scripture of the week…

Alma 37: 36-37
“Yea, and cry unto God for all thy support; yea, let all thy doings be unto the Lord, and whithersoever thou goest let it be in the Lord; yea, let all thy thoughts be directed unto the Lord; yea, let the affections of thy heart be placed upon the Lord forever.

Counsel with the Lord in all thy doings, and he will direct thee for good; yea, when thou liest down at night lie down unto the Lord, that he may watch over you in your sleep; and when thou risest in the morning let thy heart be full of thanks unto God; and if ye do these things, ye shall be lifted up at the last day.”

I just really like that scripture. Yesterday was an awesome Sunday and I felt that closeness to God in church and especially as Sister Draney and I taught Relief Society. Many of the ladies shared experiences of sharing the gospel or reaching out to less active members, or being a less active member who was reached out to. It’s worth it! Love you all, be a true friend this week!

– Sister Hale

Sent from my iPad

FullSizeRender (24)

Leave a Reply

