23 de noviembre 2015!!!

Standard

Pretty good week, still been a struggle to keep busy with teaching appointments but we are still meeting lots of people at every chance and having good experiences with members. We met with one family who the husband’s parents are going through kind of a faith crisis with church history stuff, we had a good talk about that and I’m going to send him some things that have helped me. I want to be led to people like that that I can help in some small way.

My scripture of the week is 3 Nephi 19:9 “And they did pray for that which they most desired; and they desired that the Holy Ghost should be given unto them.” When we pray for it we figure out what we need to do differently to have it. Elder Bednar gives a talk on having the peace of the Spirit in our daily lives, I really liked it, here is a piece:

“We more readily receive and recognize the Spirit of the Lord as we appropriately invite Him into our lives. We cannot compel, coerce, or command the Holy Ghost. Rather, we should invite Him into our lives with the same gentleness and tenderness by which He entreats us (see D&C 42:14). Our invitations for the companionship of the Holy Ghost occur in many ways: through the making and keeping of covenants; by praying sincerely as individuals and families; by searching the scriptures diligently; through strengthening appropriate relationships with family members and friends; by seeking after virtuous thoughts, actions, and language; and by worshipping in our homes, in the holy temple, and at church. Conversely, casualness about or the breaking of covenants and commitments, failing to pray and study the scriptures, and inappropriate thoughts, actions, and language cause the Spirit to withdraw from or to avoid us altogether.” (https://www.lds.org/general-conference/2010/10/receive-the-holy-ghost?lang=eng)

The time we take every day to learn and remember the teachings of the Savior is important to me personally because I feel more balanced, patient, and at peace with myself and others when I do. I am happier and funner and more excited for the day. That is a message of the gospel, that we find our true selves through the gospel, and it is something that brings greater meaning and joy and love into our lives. That is something I need every day as I try to get out of a rut!

I can’t really remember what happened this week so Sister Skinner is letting me use her email for mine. Enjoy!

“so this week has been pretty exciting! I had my first door slammed into my face! I think that it is pretty good that its taken me this long to get one. Plus I am trying to stay positive even though it hurt a little. I just try and count it as one down until I get closer to someone that wants to hear the gospel. Trying to stay positive really does help too and as I looked back on the situation I bet she probably felt bad for what she did. So who knows maybe she will be kinder to the next missionaries that decide to knock on her door. Something that I am super happy about is the fact that Sister Hale and I were able to give out three Book of Mormons that day. The people that we gave them to actually seemed like they were going to try and read them; I really hope that they decide to. My favorite one was when I handed one to a nice elderly lady at the assisted living center. She looked so touched when I gave it to her and she said that she would give it back to me when she was done, but I told her that it was for her and she looked so happy that she gave me a hug. It was really touching and It makes me hope that she will read it and find the truth in it when she does. One of the best feelings this week was when I felt the spirit over power me into saying my testimony to our investigators that we were teaching one night. the spirit felt so strong and I ended up saying the things that I felt about the Book of Mormon. It was the coolest experience that I have ever had where you don’t even feel like your the one speaking but you just feel this wonderful feeling. I have never had that experience before and when it happened I felt like the spirit helped me express the importance to our investigators. After the experience Sister Hale and I were able to have them commit to reading and I think that they might actually read it. I am so excited for our return appointment and see how everything is going for them.”

ok adios amigos!!

– Sister Hale

p.s. forgot one big change that happened….we live with 4 of us right? Well Sister Winter has been very sick so Sister Trommlitz got transferred here, Sister Winter went home Friday to recover. Very sad because she is awesome and very hardworking and we will miss her, but she will get better soon and be ok:) here is a picture of all 5 of us….precious….and a few other pictures. Oh and Sister G my trainer was in town!! this is us at Waffle house. the last one is me and Sister Skinner.

FullSizeRender (4)IMG_1570

FullSizeRender FullSizeRender (3) FullSizeRender (2)

Leave a Reply

